Debtors’s Prison: How Fines and Fees are keeping the Poor Locked Up

Our nation’s citizens are plagued with a persistent wealth inequality from coast to coast that has infiltrated the entire nation, including within the criminal justice system. I will be writing about the various fines and fees that the criminal justice system imposes on criminal defendants that perpetuates the wealth gap both pre and post-trial. Money is a key factor to answering whether someone spends a night or year in jail or is free to go home; whether someone has the opportunity to participate in a diversion program and potentially get the help they need; and whether one mistake can cause an individual endless and insurmountable debt. I intend to shine light on the way that the criminal justice system has utilized money, or lack thereof, as a proxy for punishment across California. I will also be discussing various fines, fees, and bail systems throughout the nation, juxtaposing them with California’s current procedures.

I’m Vicky Perry, a second year student at Santa Clara Law. I previously studied justice studies and human rights at San Jose State and am furthering my studies in criminal justice at Santa Clara by working towards obtaining a Public Interest and Social Justice Law Certificate. I intend to use my B.S. and anticipated J.D. to practice criminal law, focusing on alleviating the inequalities that the current justice system perpetuates.

